Hail, Hail, Hail Alma Mater

Making the decision to attend Kansas State University was easily the best thing I have ever done. I knew from the moment I finished my college visit that this was the place I wanted to call home. This was the place I wanted to not only begin my college career, but to lose myself and find myself all at the same time. I won’t lie, I shed a few tears after my parents dropped me off, but it didn’t take long to move past the sadness and let the excitement set it. Being in Manhattan and being on campus truly was happiness. K-State is said to be a family, and I believe that really is the best way to describe it. Never once did I feel small or like I didn’t matter, I always felt important.  Sure you want to push people off the sidewalk who don’t know how to speed walk and need an inhaler after walking up the hill of death (aka cardiac hill), but you also cross paths with the same people every Tuesday/Thursday on your way to class and feel like a part of your day is incomplete when you don’t see them, even though you don’t know them. No one really knows how the shuttle system works, everyone hates the construction, and we were all a little salty when Chick-Fil-A was temporarily shut down in the Union during the remodel. We glorify Bill Snyder and we LIVE for football games. We win together, we lose together, we sweat out the hot days together, and we endure the frostbite-together. We pick strangers up off the ground, offer rides to random people when it’s raining, and every once in a while consider throwing ourselves in front of a campus vehicle just for the free tuition. Here, I found some of my closest friends, I found a place where I belong, and I found my passion. Throughout my time at K-State I found my voice and pulled out of me a person who I fell in love with. I wasn’t afraid to meet new people, I wasn’t afraid to voice my different opinion, and I wasn’t afraid to go beyond the borders of my small town. I decided for myself the things I thought and believed and stopped letting society decide for me. I became my own person and I loved every second of it. Manhattan truly is the happiest place on Earth and it was by far the best decision I have ever made.

 

I know a spot that I love full well,
‘Tis not in forest nor yet in dell;
Ever it holds me with magic spell,
I think of thee, Alma Mater.
K-S-U, we’ll carry thy banner high.
K-S-U, long, long may thy colors fly.
Loyal to thee, thy children will swell the cry.
Hail, hail, hail, Alma Mater

With Love,

Shae

Leave a Reply

