People Simply Suck

This is not a new realization, a sudden awakening, or an eye opening experience. This is something I’ve always known to be true and something I’ve always just rolled my eyes at, but the older I get, the more I realize how true this really is. People just simply suck. That’s it, that’s all there is to it, people suck. Harsh? Maybe. True? One hundred percent. People who don’t get in the left lane when you are merging, people who stay in the left lane when they are taking a lousy Sunday drive, people who don’t say excuse me, people who let the door slam in your face, people who get to the check-out lane right before you with 95 items while you only have your one, these people all suck. But I’m not talking about those people. Yes those people really get on my nerves and make me want to say a long list of unmentionable words, but I’m talking about the people who suck on the inside. I’m talking about the friends of 21 years who leave you in a time of crisis, the roommate who stabs you in the back, the two faced ex-boyfriend, the shitty property manager, and the family who questions your every motive. Was that a little bit personal and exposing? Maybe. Do I care? No, because people suck and I’m tired of them thinking that their hurtful behavior and careless actions toward someone they care about, or once cared about, are okay. It completely blows my mind that people, people we say they are there for us, that they love us, that they would do anything for us, can just turn their back in the blink of an eye. I mean COMPLETELY blows my mind. In a time of hurt, heartbreak, sadness, pain, and unbelievable circumstances that those who promised never to leave us are no-where to be found. How can those people come up with so many excuses, not just once, not twice, not three times, but countless times. How boyfriends, alcohol, and selfish desires can just trump friendship and family. Now, I know you’re thinking that I sound like the selfish one, but can’t we all relate? A few times of missed calls, unanswered texts, white lies, and excuses seems reasonable, but when you go months on end and begin to question your self-worth and your cell phone coverage, that’s when I draw the line from selfish to using the “people suck” card. So, why am I telling you all this? Well one because venting is always good therapy and I mean you are reading MY blog. Two because it’s likely that you too are also a sucky person (truth hurts.) So, get off your high horse and be the person you said you would be. Stop making excuses, stop staying in your normal routine, and stop thinking you are better than everyone else, because you aren’t. If someone NEEDS you, you sure as hell better make time for them. It doesn’t matter if you think they are being dramatic, or needy, or that someone else will help them, because let me tell you they won’t. What you don’t know is that you are the fifth person they have contacted because they are in a moment of crisis, a moment of self-doubt, and a moment of life or death contemplation. It doesn’t matter what your dinner plans are or the fact that you’re just really tied or just flat out done with helping people- Get over it. You are not superior, none of us are. You are not better than a person with a physical or mental illness, a person with heartbreak, or a person who is in extreme pain. You comment on Facebook posts that you will be there whenever, you even say to their face that you can provide whatever they need, but is that really true? Are you only willing to bake a casserole and send it over? Life is rough and it never gets any easier. It takes a village to get through our trials and tribulations, but if the people in the village start thinking they don’t have the time, the need, or the mentality to help, then there won’t be anyone left. Don’t be that person that everyone retweets or the morbid little picture that everyone shares on Facebook with the quote “I only exist when YOU need me.” People suck, so don’t be one of them.

Love,

Shae

Leave a Reply

